top of page

National Awards

Medal of Bravery.png
Cadet Award for Bravery

The Cadet Award for Bravery may be awarded to a cadet who preforms an outstanding deed of valour involving risk of life in attempting to save the live or property of others

Former 1596 Cadet, Master Warrent Officer William Bowen is a recipient of this award. Click Here

Lord Strathcona Medal

The Lord Strathcona Medal is the highest award which can be bestowed upon a cadet in recognition of exemplary performance in physical and military training. The recipient receives the medal, certificate of merit, and a lapel pin. The award is sponsored by the Lord Strathcona Trust

Only one award may be presented per training year.

The recipient is nominated by the CO and staff. To apply for consideration Click here.

Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence

The purpose of the Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence is to provide recognition of individual endeavors in the area of citizenship, to encourage meeting and enhancing the aims and objective of the cadet organization. The medal is sponsored by The Royal Canadian Legion.

Only one award may be presented per training year.

The recipient is nominated by the CO and staff. To apply for consideration Click here.

Major-General W.A. Howard Award

The Major-General W.A. Howard Award was established to recognize outstanding Army Cadets and to promote training excellence by senior Army Cadets through a structured assessment of a cadet's overall performance. 

This award will recognize a cadet in each province and territory who has achived the highest results in their Gold Star training year.

Army, Navy, Air Force Veterans in Canada Cadet Medal of Merit

The Army, Navy, Air Force Veterans in Canada Cadet Medal of Merit (ANAVETS) was established to promote excellence and awareness of the Canadian Cadet Organization.

One medal will be awarded to the top cadet for summer training course at each cadet summer training center.

The Order of St. George Cadet Medal of Merit

The Order of St. George honors staff cadets who distinguish themselves in their exemplary contribution at a Cadet Training Center during the summer training period.

To be eligible for consideration, a cadet must meet all requirements of the training center training program, be regarded by peers and superiors as exemplifying the model cadet, be a member in good standing of one of the three cadet organizations, have demonstrated outstanding leadership and compassion for subordinates, was able, through different leadership techniques to motivate subordinates to do what was required.

The individual must also have completed three years as a cadet, demonstrated leadership qualities and demonstrated instructional abilities.

Army Cadet Service Medal

The Army Cadet Service Medal recognizes the continuous cadet service of at least four years by deserving army cadets. For every continuous year beyond the medal, a bar is awarded. 

To qualify for this award, a serving cadet must have successfully be recommended my the cadet units Commanding Officer. Furthermore, eligible service is transferable between army cadet corps.

The Duke of Edinburgh International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award is a non-competitive, internationally recognized program designed to encourage young people to develop positive skills and lifestyle habits.

The Award is about personal challenge and development and is adaptable according to each participant's interests and abilities. The strength of the Award is our ability to readily partner with other youth organizations through leader development and resource sharing.

The Award concept is one of individual challenge. it presents young people a balanced, not-competitive program of voluntary activities which encourages personal discovery and growth, self-reliance. perseverance, responsibility to themselves and service to their community.

The unique flexibility of the Award makes it ideally suited to easy adaption and integration into different cultures and societies. The basic principles of the Award remain the same but the activities and delivery continue to evolve and adapt to suit the changing demands of modern society and the varying needs of young people throughout the world.

To Learn more Click Here

bottom of page